Jah Thomas – ‘Music Maker From Jamaica’ (Vinyl LP) [PRE-ORDER]


*Pre-Order/Releases 16 August*

Nkrumah Jah Thomas is one of the great Deejay voices of Jamaican music. Through his Midnight Rock label, he is also known as a formidable producer – making important records with the likes of Anthony Johnson, Early B, King Tubby and Super Cat. Acid Jazz group label Roots Records has worked with Thomas since the late 1990s, and is set to release the first ever collection of his vocal work on 16 August 2024.

A versatile and nimble word-smith, The Music Maker from Jamaica is represented by 12 of his most vital cuts. These include his debut hit ‘Midnight Rock’, and others such as ‘Dance Hall Connection’ and ‘Dance On The Corner’, and his own versions of ‘Cool Profile’ and ‘Joker Smoker’ (hits he produced for Earl Cunningham, and Tristan Palmer respectively.) Also featured is his ’80s dancehall hit with Super Cat – ‘Dance Inna New York’ – later sampled on the hit single by Nas, ‘The Don’. In recent years, his rhythms have been sampled by Protoje and Kabaka Pyramid.

Tracks are newly remastered and the package includes sleeve notes by reggae historian Tony Rounce – a must-have for classic Dub and Dance Hall enthusiasts.


  1. Midnight Rock
  2. Shoulder Move
  3. Dance On The Corner
  4. New Dress Style
  5. Get A Girl Tonight
  6. Cricket Lovely Cricket
  7. Dancehall Connection
  8. Love You One Another
  9. Cool Profile
  10. General 007
  11. Joker Smoker
  12. Adapter Chapter