Marden Hill – ‘Blown Away’
On 4 August Acid Jazz will reissue Marden Hill’s 1994 seminal original acid jazz-era album ‘Blown Away’ – unavailable on vinyl since it was first released.

Named after the childhood home (a place visited by musicians including, Jimi Hendrix and Mick Jagger) of the group’s instigator and maverick, Mark Daniels, Marden Hill are seen as the link from acid jazz to trip hop. Originally signed to Mo Wax, their Blown Away album was released on the Delancey Street label.

The album was a collection of remixed songs from the group’s 1993 album, Sixty Second Man. Although it wasn’t a commercial success, it’s laidback and seamless blending of funk and jazz has seen it become regarded as a cult classic, particularly the driving anthem ‘Come On’.

1. Come On
2. Hijack
3. Honey Dipped
4. Bombed On Heavy
5. Harlem River Drive

1. Thelonious
2. Up In Smoke
3. Into The Future
4. Get Some In
5. Up Town Theme
6. End